Planning to Travel Alone? Here’s A Smart Idea From My Sri Lanka Trip

Princess Tadena
The Post-Grad Survival Guide
4 min readFeb 10, 2018
COLOMBO CITY PROPER

February of last year, I did my first solo international flight. Who would’ve thought that in the next year, same month, I’d find myself traveling alone again and exploring another unfamiliar country to me?

Just few days back, I had the chance to travel to Sri Lanka and to many who might have admired how I can travel to places alone, I admit it, I’d rather have another curious friend with me who could’ve asked another questions that I may not think of.

But first of all, I didn’t travel for holidays. It is for a compulsory reason.

I needed to renew my visa, hence the exit.

Now you get it. It’s not a holiday, but grasping the once-a-lifetime chances, I still did try to explore a few parts of the country but more to that, I’ve learned something that really changed another perspective in me.

Here I tell you…

Rohini Residence’s Hospitality.

(PHOTO FROM BOOKING.COM)
THIS IS EXACTLY MY ROOM. (PHOTO FROM BOOKING.COM)

We sometimes prefer a hotel that’s nearby the airport. Not only that this hotel is the one I found most likely, it’s THE BEST HOTEL I’VE EVER STAYED AT.

Being a solo traveler, it felt a bit lonely and less exciting. But Rohini’s hospitality made a lot of difference.

The first night, I was invited for a free dinner. More to that, it’s the Sri Lankan kitchen experience that really made the stay like home. I joined them cook and for the first night, we had a vegetarian meal.

I’m seriously not an adventurer when it comes to food. I just eat what’s familiar to me. But this time, having witnessed the food preparation, I surprisingly enjoyed it. I totally finished my meal with my hands.

Little did I know, the same will happen in the next two nights. They would knock at my door and say, “come, dinner is ready.”

As far as I remember, I only paid for the room. How much money did I save? lol

SRI LANKANS CANNOT LEAVE WITHOUT CHILIES. EVERYTHING THEY EAT IS SPICY. AND GOOD THING, I LIKE SPICY.

Truly amazing. In the last night, Wasa & Rohini (owners), said something that really melt my heart.

“Come back and stay with us like a family. We’ll give you free room. Just stay with us.”

Seriously, who would do that? This simple hotel with humble owners gives PR and guest’s satisfaction a priority. If there is something to look back, it’s not just the nice rooms but most of all the generosity and memories that this hotel had showed me.

I dare everyone, especially my co-millennial, to travel and stay with the locals. Be open and learn how they live. I assure you it’ll be a great learning experience!

MEET ROHINI. SHE MAY NOT CONVERSE WELL IN ENGLISH, BUT SHE’S ONE OF THE MOST HUMBLE AND ACCOMMODATING PEOPLE I’VE KNOWN. AND BY THE WAY, THIS IS MY LAST NIGHT AND I JUST WOKE UP IN THIS PHOTO.
THIS IS MY LAST PHOTO WITH WASA (LEFT) AND ROHINI (RIGHT). I HAD AN EARLY FLIGHT BACK TO MUSCAT AND THEY WERE BOTH AWAKE AND WAVED HANDS UNTIL WE’VE LOST SIGHT OF EACH OTHER.

To have traveled alone, explored places while learning from myself are really a set of bucket list. But to be given the opportunity to really experience someone else’s generosity is the one that I forever will treasure.

And one thing I will keep in mind is this,

There is no such thing as a standard in diversity. Americans eat with spoon and fork, Asians eat with hands. None is a big deal. What matters is the respect and the openness you have to blend in.

(View Sri Lankan Photos Here.)

I hope to find more journeys like this and I wish the same for everyone who dreams to travel and has the heart to explore and learn.

Tell me about your thoughts in the comment section below & please have a great day!

--

--

Princess Tadena
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

Living abroad & learning life. The Post-Grad Survival Guide Contributor. Blog: theoverseasdiary.com