Postgraduate Studies: Is It Worth It?

A glimpse into the life of a part-time student with a full-time job.

Beverly Chua
The Post-Grad Survival Guide
6 min readJun 12, 2020

--

Photo: Pang Yuhao/Unsplash

Six months ago, I took on the challenge of doing a part-time master’s degree in computer science. I managed to survive the first semester (yes, survive) and I’m now on my oh-so-blissful semester break.

The experience trying to juggle work, school and personal life has been utterly insane. I’m pretty confident that it will not get any easier.

However, despite my complaints, I’d have to say there still are wonderful moments that make the grueling process worthwhile.

So, let me share my experience as a part-time student with my friends out there who are uncertain about whether to embark on this journey and the key questions you may need to ask yourself before jumping in.

The Catalyst

What made me decide to do the masters degree?

The thought of doing a masters degree popped up in my head due to a combination of reasons:

  1. At work, I have outstanding peers who are strong in their own areas. This environment did highlight my weaknesses in the technical field and pushed me to find out what I could do to bridge that gap.
  2. I’m genuinely interested in technology and how it all works. I prefer a structured learning format as opposed to self-googling.
  3. I want to be able to propose legitimately helpful solutions to problems instead of blindly following instructions from others.
  4. In my country, the government highly subsidises the post-graduate school fees for citizens (only for a handful of courses and T&Cs apply). The company I’m working for is supportive of further education and growth which is very encouraging.

It’s important to find a compelling reason for starting something that requires so much commitment. Don’t do it because you’re following someone else, do it because you have that inner drive to be better than you are today.

Why computer science?

Computer science is relevant to my current job and what I want to do in the future.

The subject facilitates logical thinking which can be used in almost any aspect of life. I enjoy working on algorithms, learning new technologies and applying abstract concepts to get interesting results! In the end, I want the knowledge that I’ve gained to help me make better/more informed decisions in the world I live in.

The key takeaway: Find something that helps you grow in the direction you want to grow. Like sunlight to a sapling.

Why part-time?

For me, cost is the main reason.

I couldn’t afford to go a full year without income and still pay the school fees. So the part-time option was a better fit for my situation as I could work, earn some money to pay off my school fees and still achieve the same result even though it would take a bit longer.

It all depends on your own circumstances. If cost is not an issue for you, some things you could think about are:

How fast do I want to complete this degree? What kind of learning pace do I prefer? Do I have other commitments that I need to handle simultaneously?

The Routine

What does a typical work week look like?

I drew a time table to show you how the schedule would roughly look like:

Photo by the author
  • Yellow box — Majority of my weekdays are spent working from 8am to 5.30pm.
  • Red box — I took two modules in the first semester. There will be lectures once a week for each module, with each lecture spanning 2–3 hours on average. So it would take up two nights of my time .
  • Green boxes — The rest of the time slots were mostly spent on doing assignments, projects, or catching up with the parts of the lectures I couldn’t follow.
  • Blue box — Here, I will do nothing related to school or work. These are the precious moments where I spend time with my loved ones, maybe watch something on Netflix and just relax.

I think it’s important to establish a fixed routine to dedicate time for each aspect of your life, especially when you get busy. It also helps to give a sense of how much time you can commit to something. Assess your situation and make a conscious effort not to overload yourself.

The Sacrifices

What do I need to give up in my life to make this work?

Juggling all the different commitments I had was a difficult task. In order to achieve the goals that I set for myself, I needed to make some sacrifices.

  • Gatherings with friends — In general, I didn’t go out much for social activities with friends when school started. One time, I had to cancel a meet up with a good friend of mine because I had an exam coming up and needed more time to prepare. I felt really bad for doing that.
  • Hobbies — I used to play sports and go for fitness classes on weekday nights after work to keep active. When I started school, there just wasn’t much time to spare for these activities.
  • Personal rest time — There were days where I had to wake up at 630am for work and stay up until 3am the next day because I had to rush for school projects or assignments. Though this didn’t happen all the time, it took me quite awhile to get back the energy I lost from the lack of sleep.

Having said all that, it is not compulsory to make the sacrifices that I did. It’s okay to take breaks whenever you can. Spend time with your loved ones or play your favourite video games to clear your mind.

Do not sacrifice your health (be it mental, physical or emotional) for your degree. Your life and wellbeing are way more important than a certificate. Work hard, but know your limits!

The Light At The End Of The Tunnel

What makes me want to continue and not give up?

When I got accepted into the school I applied for and was given the opportunity to pursue my masters, I was extremely grateful that they wanted me as a student. It wasn’t easy to get in, so I wouldn’t give up this position that easily either.

I still see a lot of potential areas that I want to learn more about in the curriculum. This gives me the motivation and courage to press on despite the hardships that come with doing a part-time postgraduate degree.

Will I see any personal gain at the end of the course?

Yes!

In just six months I’ve learnt quite a few things that I could apply to the projects at work. I’ve also met people who have similar interests and career aspirations in the field of technology. It’s a great way to build your network.

Let’s not forget the physical certificate that will be awarded at the end of the course. That certificate is proof of all the hard work you’ve put in and the skills you’ve learnt. If you’re looking for a job, employers do look out for these things.

Ultimately, the course’s worth depends on how much effort you’re willing to put in to grow and upgrade yourself. Good things don’t come easy, but take one step at a time and give it your best shot.

When you look back, you’ll be surprised to see how far you’ve come!

Though your life stories may differ from mine, I do hope the experiences I’ve shared here provide some useful insights into what the journey may look like if you do decide to climb aboard the same train.

For those who are already on board, keep learning, enjoy the process and take care of yourself!

The Mini Post-Grad Survival Guide

A 5-day email course with amazing tips on budgeting, investing, and productivity for 20-somethings. Sign up for free.

--

--