Quitting My 9-to-5 Put Me $26,000 In Debt (Here’s What I Wish I Had Done Differently)

Declan Wilson
The Post-Grad Survival Guide
6 min readJun 2, 2020

--

Photo: Christian Erfurt/Unsplash

Giant facepalm.

After logging into my credit card account and doing some quick (yet painful) math last summer, I arrived at the sum total of $26,000. Oops, forgot the negative sign there, I arrived at the sum total of -$26,000.

That’s right, leaving my secure 9-to-5 with a smug look only a naive 20-something can pull didn’t quite pan out as profitably as I had anticipated.

Pursuing my passions wasn’t as lucrative of a gig that a lot of self-help writers profess.

Hence the metaphorical (and literal) giant facepalm. $26,000 of debt. What the hell was I thinking?

Listen, I don’t want this to happen to you. I get it. You hate your work. You commute 10 hours only to sit at a desk for another 14. The day is either unfulfilling or flat out boring. Your co-workers are annoying, your boss is overbearing, and the coffee is always burnt.

You want out.

I’ve been there. But now I’m here.

My goal is to talk you down from the ledge. Don’t jump, or at least not until you’ve made essential preparations first.

I don’t regret my decision of quitting my 9-to-5, however, I wish I hadn’t let my frustrations cloud my…

--

--