Recycling My Old Ideas Has Helped Me Make Extra Money Online

Save the planet, save your ideas, save your bank account

Angely Mercado
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

--

Bands to Make her Dance. Photo by Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

Being entrepreneurial seems like a lot of fun. And it is. But the first few years aren’t easy. Freelancing and learning to become your own small business takes a lot of online promotion, sending out emailed pitches & queries to different businesses and prospective clients.

There is so much emotional labor and behind the scenes work to get certain bylines and gigs. It’s about a quarter of the work apart from working on the actual writing and then having to negotiate a price and then invoicing. I’ve always felt like it was worth it whenever I see my byline and share it online whenever I see people sharing my work… but I sometimes feel like I’m on a hamster wheel, trying to figure out what to pitch next, what to write about next in order to make extra money on the side of my new internship.

It’s stressful to see the month ahead of me and think about how I can fill that in with paid work that will help me pay my bills and even save up enough money to take a necessary but brief vacation. The stress has driven me to becoming physically sick and worst… and I hate feeling desperate all the time. It’s the worst thing ever and unfortunately comes with sometimes feeling underemployed as a freelancer.

--

--

Angely Mercado
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

Native NYer. Climate writer/researcher @Gizmodo. Words in The Nation, The New York Times, Vogue & more. Work with me: amercado92@gmail.com