Simple Financial Advice That Can Boost Your Mental Wellbeing

Money and anxiety lessons from a disastrous European trip

Toni Koraza
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

--

Photo: Toni Koraza/Unsplash

23 years passed since The Notorious B.I.G. explained how mo’ money brings mo’ problems.

I’m taking P. Diddy’s word for it, as he’s the authority on having too much money. However, less money brings mo’ problems too. Lack of financial freedom can lead to the development of mental health problems, according to the peer-reviews of 50 relevant studies.

Anxiety, depression, self-doubt, guilt, and sexual dysfunctions can stomp on your well-being when you’re overthinking how to pay rent and what to eat tomorrow.

I’ve recently tapped into the subtle feeling of financial security, and the anxieties, depression, and overall living intensity subsided.

The best thing I’ve done for my mental health lately was to keep my bank accounts in check, but it took a lot of learning for me to get to this point.

I knew how to handle an espresso machine, but the coffee wasn’t what you’d get at Starbucks.

I was in my early twenties when I booked a one-way flight to Ibiza together with Trav, my best friend.

--

--

Toni Koraza
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

The content guy — I help SaaS companies reach $100M ARR through product-led SEO. Founder at MADX.digital