Sorry, Traveling Isn’t Going To Make You A Better Person

Tom Kuegler
The Post-Grad Survival Guide
4 min readJul 19, 2018

--

“A flatlay of a magnifying glass, a cup of coffee, cameras, photos and various travel items on a map” by ian dooley on Unsplash

I write this to you now as a homeless person.

I’ve now been in various airports for 38 straight hours.

I’ve essentially been without a home for the equivalent of 2 days, and I’ll remain homeless for the next 16 hours before I touch down in America.

This is traveling.

It’s a helluva far cry from what these travel instagrammers make us believe traveling should be (mine’s below).

I went on this trip to broaden my mind. To “find myself.” Hell, that’s what my blog’s called.

Three months later I’m struggling to figure out just what I did learn from seeing so many countries/things.

That Beautiful Bali Instagram Feed Is The Problem

Like all digital nomads/aspiring DN’s I went to Bali during this three month stint. I enjoyed it, I learned a little bit about Indonesian cuisine and culture. I even made a few videos..

--

--