Stop Being Coward And Do The Challenge

Princess Tadena
The Post-Grad Survival Guide
3 min readJan 21, 2018
Muscat, Oman

It’s been almost three months since I left my job and to be honest, I never regretted my decision although it sucks to be jobless.

We face different challenges and that was one of mine; to have decisively sent that resignation email and take the possible consequences.

I’m a fresh grad overseas worker and I’ve worked for an advertising and publishing company in Dubai for eight months.

Things really turned upside down that I couldn’t bear staying for long.

I admit, to have worked for that company was really an overwhelming opportunity. I learned a lot of things, exposed to a lot of things especially in the corporate world.

It’s almost 3 months now and getting a job in Dubai is quite a serious one. I’ve sent applications to the neighbor country which is Oman. There I got interviewed thrice through the phone.

On a whim, I began planning to move from Dubai to Oman.

Now, I’m here on another part of the Middle East, adjusting to the new people and environment. So far, I can tell that I like it better here.

How does it feel to leave a job?

Leaving is either a lost or a gain. Some people leave their job because they’re just not happy at all. Mine, it was a compilation of complications.

I loved the challenge of my job. But I hated the environment. Thinking about those times just makes me feel sick.

I couldn’t stand through it, until one day, I finally had the guts to file my resignation. Guess what, it didn’t turn up well, too. Expect the worst, and it did.

So what can I advice?

If you’re confused about your current situation, being unhappy is not a reason to leave. Try to work it out. Get the interest back.

But, if you are no longer growing as an individual, if the working environment gets more toxic everyday and you have no power to change it, and if you think there’s a bigger opportunity outside of your cell, stop being coward and move on.

Ask advice from the right people. (Eg. HR Managers, Counselors, Elders)

Leaving and hunting for another job is the least of all the things that we want to do. And what sucks more?

It’s the feeling of being jobless.

I’ve lost interest in writing and any other things. Sometimes I just stare at nowhere for a couple of minutes.

But what really helped me get through it is when I step out and do something.

I mean just do something. Like getting up from my bed and taking a shower, getting out and meeting friends, or taking walks to the park, or reading a page.

It’s when you’ve accomplished something, it makes you feel that you still have a purpose.

It’s a hall of testing patience and teaching humility.

How does it feel to start over?

It gives me a sense of hope that eventually things will get better and I’ll meet better people, but most of all, it’s being aware of the mistakes we’ve done in the past and that we can be a better version of ourselves from now on because we learned our lessons.

Though there are times that we feel overwhelmed by the transitions that are happening, when we are reminded of how we handled things before, it makes us hopeful that this time we can do it better.

And most of all, it gives us the opportunity to look back and be thankful for the new set of chances of transforming ourselves for the better through our bad experiences.

If our past hunts us down and when sometimes we lose focus, remember what the Bible says,

“Forget the former things, do not dwell on the past. See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland.” — Isaiah 43:18–19

Have a good day, everyone!

--

--

Princess Tadena
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

Living abroad & learning life. The Post-Grad Survival Guide Contributor. Blog: theoverseasdiary.com