Stop Reading Quit-Your-Job Advice Articles

Ask yourself these important questions instead

Declan Wilson
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

--

Photo: Annie Spratt/Unsplash

Quitting your job has become over-hyped and glorified. I’ve seen too many advice articles written by 20-somethings claiming to quit their jobs to pursue freedom or whatever.

More freedom! More money! Less stress! They all say.

I quit my job in 2017. I thought I was super cool. And then the panic set in. Over the next three years of working for myself and subsequently reading more quit-your-job advice articles, I’ve realized something:

Making a career on your own is difficult, risky, and agonizing. For some, it works out, for others it doesn’t.

The life experiences of a 22-year-old single dude quitting his job at Target and writing advice columns about becoming a solopreneur do not translate for the 34-year-old mother of four with a mortgage, car payment, and health insurance to worry about.

There is a huge disconnect here.

The quit-your-job advice of today has a branding problem because it’s not geared towards the average adult with financial anxiety and life responsibilities.

Which brings me to the purpose of this article. If you’re looking for a fresh, realistic take on how to quit your job, look no further.

--

--