Stop Saying It’s Not Meant To Be

Princess Tadena
The Post-Grad Survival Guide
4 min readMay 4, 2018

Do you sometimes feel pressured looking at other people’s achievements?

Did you ever compare your capabilities vs how others are doing?

Enough of that because now, I’ll be sharing you something that’s gonna crack that twisted perspective.

Not too long ago, I was finally hired to work for a travel agency as a marketing coordinator. It was really a breakthrough for me if you know my story. Looking back to the most productive 3 months I had as a young professional, I’m just so grateful for the wisdom and strength every day as I learn different things that I never thought of having.

To break down what I’ve achieved in the last three months apart from my full-time job, I have:

  1. Launched my own self-hosted and secure website for blogging.
  2. Developed a company’s website.
  3. Did freelance photography.

WITHOUT ANY PROFESSIONAL DIGITAL MARKETING BACKGROUND, JUST FULL INTEREST TO IT.

I’m so inspired to write about it because I just realized that every skill is doable. I hope to also inspire you to further your potential and work on with what you dream of doing.

Before I was starting to build up my passion for writing, I was getting frustrated because I thought writing is the only thing I want to do and leaving my full-time job was on top of my mind.

Then I was reminded by a thought from a friend who said,

Use your current situation to support your passion.

It made sense to me that I accepted the reality of doing an ordinary full-time job while sidelining what I love to do. Though it eats up a lot of time and energy, it gives me profound self-fulfillment and inner joy.

And I’d like you to also experience the same.

I understand that in today’s professional world, there is a vast issue about job-mismatch and a lot of millennials are being affected. But that’s not the end of your dreams, you know that!

Do you want to be an entrepreneur but end up working for someone? Are you a chef at heart but end up being a server? Do you love art but currently working in finance?

If you cannot find the job that best fits your qualification and interests, use what you have to be building blocks to your passion!

Sometimes, not getting what we want produces growth in character. So instead of complaining about your shortcomings, why not focus on learning from your experiences and the people around you?

This way, when you fail at pursuing your passion, you still have something to fall back on. You won’t be left hanging because your full-time job still supports you.

I’m not saying that you should stop. Rather, pause a little bit until the interest is back. Eventually you will be inspired again and this time, you are more effective because through your current situation, you find inspiration to work smarter towards your passion.

Let’s say you’re madly determined now that you just want to jump and get your feet to what you dream of doing, remember these:

1. “Think big and don’t listen to people who tell you it can’t be done. Life’s too short to think small.”
— Tim Ferris

There are negative people who, during the process, will think that what you’re trying to achieve is impossible. But I tell you this: nobody, even yourself, knows what you are capable of achieving if you just first believe and work hard to get it.

2. “Great work is done by people who are not afraid to be great.”
— Fernando Flores

Sometimes, it could be overwhelming to dream big, think big. Just by thinking of the amount of effort and dedication that you have to invest in something just makes it initially complicated. It terrifies you, right?

What helps me a lot is not only by foreseeing the best thing that could happen but also the worst. By having the two sides of expectations, I’m more prepared to face the worst case scenario and accepting it would be easier. At the end of the day, your failures would only make you wiser and better in character.

3. “There is no heavier burden than an unfulfilled potential.”
— Charles Schulz

It’s amazing how after learning one skill can lead to a desire for learning another skill. This is happening to me. Honestly, my email is full of tutorials from different subscriptions I gathered from one to another.

There are sooooo many free tutorials/webinars available online about almost everything. Try to browse YouTube and watch a tutorial you like and even if you find it unhelpful, that’s fine. After all, you are only losing your time in a better way.

4. “Continuous effort, not strength or intelligence, is the key to unlocking our potential.”
— Winston Churchill

Originally, the word passion in late Latin is passio meaning “suffer”. It’s the willingness to suffer for what you love. It’s not merely a desire for something. You have to understand that following your passion involves sacrifice, hardwork, and perseverance.

So if you like to create music but have no guts to work hard for it, you are wasting your gift. I tell you, you have got what it takes. It only needs continuous effort, or if not, a vision during weak days.

5. “Begin with the end in mind.”
— Stephen Covey

Remember that no matter how hard it is, stick to what you have believed you can achieve in the first place.

There might be some changes throughout the process but keep your cool and trust your timing.

It’s better to be slow than saying it’s not meant to be.

I learned to do the same.

Princess Tadena is a 22-year old Filipina who independently lives overseas. She writes her life lessons and unique travel experiences. Aside from building her career and writing, she does photography and music on the side.

https://princesstadena.com

--

--

Princess Tadena
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

Living abroad & learning life. The Post-Grad Survival Guide Contributor. Blog: theoverseasdiary.com