The #1 Way to Get More Engagement on Instagram

Hard lessons learned from a long-time Instagrammer.

Zulie Rane
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

--

“silver iPhone 6 turned on” by Le Buzz on Unsplash
Please give us likes!

Meet Chumbo and Astrid, above. I’ve been running my cats’ Instagram for about 10 months now. It’s not hyper-successful by any means, but I do have a little niche following.

A while ago, I committed to really getting into it. I started posting every day consistently, I learned how to edit the images, I started really thinking about the captions. In short, I started doing all the things every ‘Influencer’ webinar and blog tells you to do.

However, I found my engagement was really variable. Some posts would get an engagement of 15–20% whereas others wouldn’t break 5%. I couldn’t tell why — I didn’t change anything, it was all in the same style and tone. Why was this happening?

FYI: engagement is calculated as (number of likes + comments)/(number of followers). One of my most successful posts had ~500 likes and comments, at a time when I have about 2500 followers, giving me an engagement of about 20%.

I had a breakthrough when I received a really nice comment on one of my posts. Cheered, I clicked to her profile and…

--

--

Zulie Rane
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

Writer and cat mom. Opinions are my own. This is my just-for-fun profile! My official Medium profile is @Zulie_at_Medium.