The 5-Step Strategy I Used to Quit My 9–5

How I quit my $120,000 career after making $200 online

Michael Leonard
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

--

Photo: GaudiLab/Deposit Photos

April 29th, 2017, was the day my life changed.

I told my boss I was retiring (at 29 years old), going to build an online business that inspires the world and pursue professional golf.

At the time, I was making $100,000+ at my job, and I had only made $200 from my blog… ever.

When I told him, he thought I was kidding, but I had been preparing for this day for nearly a year. I knew it was time to go 100% on my goals.

Most people thought I was insane.

My old job was the definition of cushy; free insurance, six-figure pay, no dress code, ping pong tables, kegs, and kitchens.

But ultimately, the perks weren’t worth 40 hours of my week. I knew there was more to life than working on someone else’s dream.

I didn’t want to grow old and end up with regrets, so I took the leap.

But I didn’t just quit on a whim. I made a plan for about 15 months and made it happen.

Here is the five-step process that I used to quit my six-figure job to blog.

1. Got Clear on the Outcome

--

--

Michael Leonard
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

Golf writer, host of Wicked Smart Golf Podcast, and mental golf coach. Quit $100K career in 2017 to write & golf.