Your Boring Office Job Might Actually Be Perfect for You

Without a Community, You Won’t Succeed

Todd Brison
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

--

Man in architecture office — New Old Stock (https://nos.twnsnd.co/)

It happened last Thursday in a Paris metro station as I strutted down the connection between the metro lines 1 and 9. A spasm through both cheeks: what was going on? I reached up and touched the sides of my face, trying to get a beat on what was happening.

I was smiling!

For the last 8 weekdays, I’ve been on assignment in Paris, France. Each of those mornings, I climbed into a train packed with bodies, took a 38-minute commute to the office, and worked from precisely 8:50–5:30.

Despite this, I had a grin plastered all over my face.

I thought an actual commute would be murder: wrong. I thought being back in an office environment would be miserable: wrong. I thought sitting in the same physical space as coworkers would be pointless: wrong. Instead of suffocating, my new routine feels comfortable and warm.

This feels traitorous. What self-respecting millennial could possibly admit to loving an office? After another week of self-reflection, I came up with these things.

1) It’s a not a workspace. It’s a Work Space

--

--