The Bright Side to the Quarantine

Social distancing is tough. It can be lonely. It can be boring. It may be difficult to change your daily routine. But there are some bright sides.

Daniel K. Driskill
The Post-Grad Survival Guide
3 min readMar 24, 2020

--

Photo: Fuu J/Unsplash

I wanted to share some of the thoughts and insights I’ve had over this past week that bring to light the positives of our current situation. They will help us survive the weeks and months ahead—emotionally, psychologically, even physically.

Life Is Slowing Down

One of the biggest criticisms we hear regarding modern life is that we’re all moving way too fast. We don’t have time to smell the roses, in other words.

Photo: Simon Migaj/Unsplash

I’ve never taken so much time to listen to the rain, or to appreciate how beautifully the rugged mountains in front of my home contrast with the turquoise sky. It feels like I actually have time to think.

I’ve taken up writing again, and my creativity has soared. Even though the world seems to be spiraling downward, life, somehow, seems more beautiful lately. It’s quiet.

We Can Become Closer

Because things have been quieter, and because, perhaps, I’ve had more time, I feel closer to my family.

As I’ve transitioned to working from home this past week, I’ve noticed that I am spending more time with them. I’m more aware of them. Even though it can be difficult at times to focus on my work, there’s something nice about being able to hear my kids run around the house all day. There’s something nice about being able to leave my office, pick one (or all) of them up, and give ’em a good squeeze.

And my wife likes having me home, too.

We Can Be More Productive

It sounds crazy to say that we can be more productive when we’re stuck at home, not being able to go anywhere, or “do anything,” but there are certain things a quieter, simpler, less eventful life can allow us to focus on.

Photo: Cathryn Lavery/Unsplash

Some examples are family and creativity, as already mentioned, but the relaxation these things have brought me have actually given my brain the balance it needs to be more productive in my work—I’m a software engineer, by the way.

I admit, I’ve struggled a bit with not using technology too often, because it’s easy to feel like there’s nothing else to do, but I would like to suggest that we still try to limit how often we’re scrolling on our phones and binging Netflix. Even though we’re isolated, the world is still clamoring for our attention online—and what a clamor it is.

Take this opportunity instead for more self-reflection, meditation, calm and peace. Take this time to strengthen your relationships, to serve others, and maybe even get some real exercise.

I know for a fact it’s possible to maintain a life balance in the midst of a pandemic; you just need to know how.

Conclusion

Granted, everyone’s quarantine experience is going to be a little different, with varying levels of difficulty in making the lifestyle-transition, but I hope the “bright sides” I’ve highlighted can help us all maximize our happiness, comfort, and personal fulfillment in these trying times.

--

--