The Dutch-American Friendship Treaty

DAFT: A Little-Known Way for Self-Employed Americans to Move to Europe.

Delaney Jaye
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

--

Photo by Shane Aldendorff from Pexels

If you’re interested in moving to Europe and are a citizen of the United States, this post will tell you how I did it.

I just was granted a two-year residence permit in The Netherlands with my husband and we are each eligible to start a business of our choosing. It was a two-month process start-to-finish and, considering the relative complexities of immigration worldwide, it was not that difficult.

The Dutch-American Friendship Treaty has a Visa that allows Americans to work as a self-employed person in The Netherlands.

If you have an American passport and you want to move to Europe, it is an option worth considering. I’ll tell you how I did it step by step (without an immigration attorney).

Step 1: Move to the Netherlands

I know what you’re thinking because it is exactly what I was thinking — how is this step one? Trust me though, it is. Everything in the Netherlands must be done in a very specific order, and none of it can start until you have an address.

There’s a lot more to The Netherlands than Amsterdam, so take a look around. Maybe spend a week or two traveling the different regions to…

--

--