The easiest 5-step to make Marketing Plans for small businesses

Meiling Wu
The Post-Grad Survival Guide
3 min readOct 16, 2018

Deep insights after reviewing 100+ companies

“An architect working on a draft with a pencil and ruler” by Daniel McCullough on Unsplash

Since recently I am creating a marketing agency that provides service to small, medium companies. Often times, I hear people asking about how to make a marketing plan? And often during the conversation, the founders of clients usually ask do I really need to invest in Marketing? and how much exactly do I need to invest in?

The answer is simple: Yes!

As I mentioned in a previous blog saying:

If Facebook were a country it would be the world’s 3rd largest.

China -India- Facebook- United States

A valuable and effective marketing plan is critical for the success of your marketing approach even the success of your business as a whole. Have a clear outline of what are you going to do in terms of marketing and have a clear brain to decided where to put your limited budget to maximize your ROI is highly depended whether you know how to make a plan and how well you design it.

Five steps to outline your plan

1. Analysis

Analyze the market. this is where you explore market conditions, our potential customers, and competition

2. Strategy

Segment market, target specific customers and how you will position your products and services in the marketplaces

3. Tactics

including your products or service programs, your pricing approach, your promotion and marketing communications program, channels. Basically 4P.

4. Measurement

It’s here where you describe what steps you need to take when those steps will happen, and who’s responsible for getting the job done.

5. Financial

Calculate budget accordingly to where you should allocate your investment.

My name is Meiling, a marketing master student at NYU. I am during my Gap Year and write reflections and business related inspiration.

*Sign up here to receive my latest articles.

Find more of my stories here !

If you found value in this, I’d really appreciate it if you join us and write me back.

By the way, 👏🏻 *clap* 👏🏻 your hands (up to 50x) if you enjoyed this post. It encourages me to keep daily writing and help other people finding it :)

--

--

Meiling Wu
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

Marketer, Writer, Entrepreneur, MS@NYU, AIESECer, Scholar@Watson Incubation | Data Analytics, Product Management, Marketing | Based in New York & China