The Freelance Writer Newbie Life

Early Gratifications

Valerie Sizelove
The Post-Grad Survival Guide
2 min readDec 3, 2018

--

Photo by Ewan Robertson on Unsplash

I did it.

I created my very own first invoice through PayPal, carefully outlining the details of my writing services and requesting payment.

My fingers were crossed that this new client (and one who I knew nothing about) would send payment within the ten requested days listed on the invoice. The alternative was too scary to think about.

And to my surprise, the payment was there almost instantly. In my PayPal account. I had just submitted this article and was paid within an hour.

It’s hard to describe the feeling as easy money because producing the work was no easy task at all. I over analyzed everything as I wrote, dragging out the process for much longer than I needed to.

This money was well-earned. And it’s proof that doing something I enjoy, like writing, can pay off. I created something out of nothing.

Now, I wait patiently until this advice article on relationships (with a byline!) is published on a brand new website. I can’t wait to share it with everyone.

In the meantime, I continue pumping out ghostwritten articles for a few extra bucks and applying to writing gigs like crazy. It’s definitely a grind but I’m loving every minute of this freelance writing thing.

Thanks for taking a glimpse into “the life of a newbie freelance writer” as I share my triumphs and mistakes with the world.

Valerie is on Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn. View her portfolio of sample work here.

--

--

Valerie Sizelove
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

Early 30’s, mentally complex, twisted and honest, reflecting and growing, catching and sharing gems with all my kindred. Soul connection addict. Shapeshifter.