The Lessons My Father Taught Me That Changed My Life

And how to apply them to yours

Hannah Ellen
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

--

Photo: Colton Sturgeon/Unsplash

Parents can be a pain with their alternate views and their obsession with our lives, what we are doing and who we are meeting, but parents also hold the key to some of life’s secrets and stop at nothing to ensure that we obtain this key from them.

You’ll also come to realize, as you get older, that almost everything your parents tried to teach you was valuable, whether you want to admit that or not.

There are many lessons to be gained from other people’s experiences, and this is what I have learned from my dad’s:

1. Put practicality before other peoples opinions

My dad has always been a big advocate of being practical in every situation, regardless of popular opinion. He is the type of person to wear casual shorts and sandals to a fancy wedding because he doesn’t want to be hot and uncomfortable, and I admire him for it now, but I didn’t always.

I remember so vividly begging him not to wear his shorts and sandals to my basketball match, fearful of what others would think and say about him because no one else’s dad wore shorts and sandals. I know this sounds silly; however, you have to bear in mind that it was April in Ireland, which is not shorts…

--

--

Hannah Ellen
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

Just an average, Irish girl with not so average ideas. I enjoy writing about lifestyle, self improvement, fitness, health and anything else that takes my fancy.