The Misconceptions Of The “Work For Free” Culture

When used correctly, this strategy can open doors for you

Athirah Syamimi
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

--

Photo by lasse bergqvist on Unsplash

There’s a lot of online debate about whether you should work for free. As someone who had offered free services and got a lot of value from it, I’d say yes. However, you’ve got to be strategic about it. I knew what my goals are and what it takes to get there. So, I did it.

I didn’t do it without having a plan in place or without thinking things through. And that’s probably why it worked really for me and not for some others.

What are some of the reasons why someone would choose to work free? For me, I had no prior working experience and education background relating to the industry I want to pursue. I was building a portfolio that I knew is useful to get paid to do something I love.

So, it pains me when someone degrades working for free, especially if they had not done it themselves.

Here are some of the things I’ve heard about and how I actually feel towards it.

“You Are Letting People Know Your Worth Is $0”

If you’re an expert in your field with experiences and portfolios to back you up — you shouldn’t be working for free. You already have a market value for your skills and you…

--

--