The Slept on Benefits of Quitting Your Job to Create Content

Weigh the pros and cons according to your lifestyle

Ryan Porter
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

--

A lone astronaut looks down sadly while standing in a golden field.
Photo: Elia Pellegrini/Unsplash

I am jobless.

At least, I’m jobless in the sense that I don’t have to report to a boss at a designated time for the next three months.

It’s summer, and I’m a teacher on “vacation.” It’s left to be seen whether I come back or not. The digital nomad lifestyle suits me, except I’m more of a digital work-from-home kind of guy.

There’s a lot of negativity behind quitting a job. I get that. Giving up a guaranteed paycheck to dream chase is scary as sh!t, but that’s not what I’m doing.

Luckily, I have a couple of clients I work for consistently, and we’re going to ramp up operations come July. I’ve been teaching, writing, and editing videos every day for three months straight. I try fitting five workouts a week and social life into the mix.

It’s a grind-or-die lifestyle (I'm young, I’m supposed to like it), but frankly, I’m not trying to put in 10–11 hour days for the rest of my life. Sure, the money is good, but I’d trade a little bit of it for my time.

I could sit here and type out all the vanilla and cream advantages of creating content and how the money is good, yada yada. This isn’t your cookie-cutter “I…

--

--

Ryan Porter
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

I’ve helped generate $20 million with video marketing. Now I help solopreneurs get more leads: https://videomarketingsecrets.carrd.co/