The Starter’s Guide to Investing and Trading

You’ve decided to put your money to work. Now what?

Simon Tang
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

--

Photo: Tim Mossholder/Unsplash

Maybe last Friday evening over some wine, you decided to start investing or trading, because money’s pretty great. Perhaps you already have some money in an ETF but are thinking about doing more, because wealth generation is everyone’s idea of a hobby.

Either way, you’re in the right place. You’ll learn the absolute basics, what kind of investor/trader you might want to be, and a simple roadmap to get you started.

I’ve just finished my first year of active trading with a 25% return, but not before a lot of trial and error (which I paid for quite dearly), cycling through many styles and strategies to understand what works for me. I’m by no means an expert, but I understand the novice struggle, so I’m here to share some of what I picked up about investing and trading such as:

  • There are a million ways to do it
  • None of them work (all the time)
  • Don’t try every single one

Note: this is an intro-level article on investing and trading. For more advanced explanations on how I made 25% trading, feel free to read this walkthrough below.

--

--

Simon Tang
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

Professional amateur; trader, programmer, ex-tank commander, graphic designer, hiker, dancer, beer-drinker, Asian (see picture).