The Truth About Living and Teaching English In South Korea

Michal Bernolak
The Post-Grad Survival Guide
9 min readMay 23, 2019

--

Photo by Ross Parmly on Unsplash

I remember thinking “What the heck am I going to do when school ends?!” I wanted to do something big, something crazy, to go to a far away place, to have a far away experience… what would it be like?

My roommate at the time showed me some pictures of his brother eating an exotic fish, in what looked like a foreign eatery. The picture was taken at a restaurant in Seoul, the capital of South Korea. It peaked my interest and I wanted to see more. I had one more semester to go and no plans afterwards.

I became obsessed with the idea of going to South Korea. I could work there as an English teacher, have my own apartment, and travel a foreign part of the world. I was ready to sign on the dotted line.

I had a successful interview for a school in Busan, the second largest city in Korea. They offered me a position and I took it. I would be flying out on August 14th, 2014. It changed my life forever, for the better.

Landing a job

Knowing where to start looking for a job was not as hard as I thought. I googled “teaching jobs in South Korea” and I found what I was looking for. There are tons of websites and agencies looking to recruit new teachers.

--

--

Michal Bernolak
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

In the process of self discovery. I learned to write for over a year, but am now learning to code.