This Simple Thank You Note Landed Me a 6-Figure Job Offer

Ursula Lauriston
The Post-Grad Survival Guide
4 min readDec 7, 2019

--

Photo by KAL VISUALS via Unsplash

What exactly should you write in that thank you note after an interview? If you’re dusting off your job search skills and find yourself stumped when it comes to choosing the most effective language, you’re in the right place.

Here’s the thank you note language I used to land a six-figure job offer:

Name,

Thank you for meeting with me today to discuss the JOB TITLE role at COMPANY NAME. It was a pleasure learning more about you and your vision for the team. I know I have the technical skills and team-oriented personality needed to be successful in this position and I look forward to the opportunity to prove myself to you.

Your name/Signature

Yep. That’s it.

After almost a full day of some of the toughest interviews I’ve ever had, this simple note solidified my place as the front runner and I was offered a six-figure job at a top financial services company.

Full disclosure, I didn’t take the role. But I did walk away with a valuable lesson. And that lesson is: thank you notes still matter.

This is Why It Works

--

--