Through Your Pain Comes Your Power

Princess Tadena
The Post-Grad Survival Guide
4 min readJul 1, 2018
Photo Via Pexels

I was looking for a phrase through my previous journal notebook when I found words that made me look back. As I recalled memories, I saw people. I saw my life and how everything has changed. I felt grateful.

Every time I share my life stories, I always get comments from people saying that for my age I’ve experienced quite beyond the usual. I used to be an average teenager with a rebellious-tendency character. In the year 2015, I could still remember how things turned upside down. The events, the people who have played different roles in my life, and how all of that impacted me and turned me to the person that I am now; I could still remember.

Tested. Mistaken. Rejected. Crushed.

I got to my lowest point that I didn’t know any other option to mend my pain but kneel down. I was shouting. The pain seemed endless. I uttered awful words. I gave up. I gave up to Him. Hoping I’d be gone the next morning, I still woke up in despair.

A few years later, I realized I wouldn’t be as resilient as this if not because of those seasons.

Sometimes we think God has left us but the truth is, as the Father, He grieves for us and allows pain to mould us to be the person that He has designed us to.

My new-found friend recently said,

“I have friends who are having a good life but they never experienced the pain that I had. Still I wouldn’t trade that because it only made me wiser.”

They say pain can either make us or break us. I say it can only break us to make us. I think that’s more appropriate. There was a time when I got very tired of being a mess that I started to crawl again and take small steps at a time. I thought I could never get over. But later I found myself running again and even inspiring others to run also.

“Isn’t it funny how day by day nothing changes, but when you look back everything is different?” — C.S Lewis

So are you.

Pain gives back a sense of purpose. When I was starting to put myself back, I met people who struggled the same and I just naturally felt for them. I’ve become more understanding. I’ve become humble to reach out to people.

Your pain is healing to others, remember that.

While social media has become a platform for perfection, only when someone tells us we’re not alone during difficult times that we find hope to keep going. Isn’t it?

“What about those who have never seen any light of hope?”

That’s when prayer becomes powerful. I have always believed that I’m here to this day because of the prayers of the people around me. So if you know someone who struggles, please take a moment and lift that person to God.

I’m writing about pain because people think that those who struggle are weak. But the truth is, great people have struggled first before becoming one. And it is a necessity. Whether you struggle because of sins, rejections or failures in many ways, remember that it’s all part of the process. And no one is qualified to judge you because even God can turn the worst to a beautiful mess.

If someone says, “You could’ve avoided that.”

Then you must say, “Well, it’s all part of the process.”

And if someone says, “Not in all things, not with this.”

Then you should say, “If God allowed, and if I’m still here, what a great plan He has, right?”

This is not only for you, but for me too. I’m writing this to remind myself of the things I’ve surpassed and how I can always soar over the situations that are yet to come.

There would always be nasty things along the way but what can separate us from it all is to keep believing.

To believe that this is not the end but just the beginning.

To believe that predicaments do not define our destiny.

To believe that all things work together for good.

And believe to the One who says,

“I will not cause pain without allowing something new to be born.” (Isaiah 66:9)

Someday, you will look back and see how far you have gone.

Someday, you will appreciate the beauty of your struggles and how all things have made sense.

And when someday has come, you will praise God for being a master of life.

Princess Tadena is a 22-year old Filipina who independently lives overseas. She writes her life lessons and unique travel experiences. Aside from building her career and writing, she does photography and music on the side.

https://princesstadena.com

--

--

Princess Tadena
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

Living abroad & learning life. The Post-Grad Survival Guide Contributor. Blog: theoverseasdiary.com