Today Is What We Have

So let’s live like we really get it.

Shannon Ashley
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

--

Photo by goodvibe lion on Reshot

As a writer who speaks very openly about her life and the various cringe-worthy details it entails, I used to think, "Now that people know I struggle with this, they’re never going to take me seriously."

Be it my struggles with obesity, failed relationships, or my mental health issues--it's easy to be hard on myself and decide I have nothing valuable to contribute anywhere. It's easy to be too embarrassed to write what's on my heart. It's even been easy to watch my life go by--often as a hermit rather than tackling each issue one at a time.

And there's a difficulty to being very honest because you open yourself up to so much scrutiny. You make yourself much more vulnerable to pain from all different directions, including your own.

The truth is that actually doing the work is so much harder than simply spacing out. And I would know.

I've wasted many years of my adult life just getting by, but accomplishing next to nothing. And I say years, I'm talking more than a decade.

--

--

Shannon Ashley
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

It's not about being flawless, it's about being honest. Calling out vipers since 2018 🍵 https://ko-fi.com/shannonashley 📧 truthurts.substack.com