Top 7 Reasons Why To Love Oman

Princess Tadena
The Post-Grad Survival Guide
5 min readMay 27, 2018

Okay so it’s been 5 months (already?!) since I made Oman my current home and I’m so itching to write about how awesome this country is and to be honest, I need not exaggerate things because everyone here already knows the things that I’m about to say.

Before coming to Oman and even now, I still find a lot of tales from different people about Oman as a dry place to live in. That’s fine, Oman doesn’t need to prove itself anyways. But still, I want to tell you how Oman has captivated me in a good sense.

There are so many things to love about Oman. But here are my top 7 reasons:

FRIENDLY LOCALS

Did you know? Oman was recognized by the Inter Nations’ Expat Insider as the friendliest Arab nation for expats in 2016. 14,000 people from 174 nationalities and 194 countries or territories took part in the survey and had their say.

I’ve lived in Dubai for a year and every time I chat with my friends here who also lived before in other Arab countries, we always conclude that Omanis are the best! Not only that they are admiringly approachable, they are naturally thoughtful and gracious. Unlike the others, most of the Omanis I’ve met don’t treat themselves as superior. They don’t seek the spotlight and it’s an add-on that they pay lot of respect for women.

PEACEFUL AND SIMPLE

You see, most people now would only want to get a good rest after a tiring day and Oman, having a huge space, fewer people, and a laid-back lifestyle fits for that type.

I remember one time in the evening while I peacefully lick my ice cream cone outside the coffee shop just a few steps from my house, fronting a park with kids playing; reminds me of my younger days with my cousins in the province. Just like the old days, I find Oman a sense of belonging because of its simplicity, may it be the people or the lifestyle itself.

I just learned through a local friend a little bit of the country’s history and how His Majesty, Sultan Qaboos is working to improve the country. But what caught my attention is this:

“Sultan Qaboos believes that conflicts never end if you keep throwing stones at each other. Instead he wants to help people by showing them love.”

I think this is the reason why Oman doesn’t get attention in the news. It’s also fascinating to find out from a local’s point that they don’t want to leave their land and if people don’t know much about their country, they don’t give a damn.

AUTHENTIC WEALTH

I wouldn’t talk about economy here as I’m not built for that but to comment about Oman’s wealth with my tiny knowledge based on my own observations, I get so amazed to see the richness of this country in terms of its natural assets and how people make use of it.

Living in Muscat is like being in the mouth of a volcano. The entire city is covered by rock mountains and it’s quite enchanting to have both the urban and rural life.

Before I forget to tell you, Oman is surrounded by mountains and the ocean. Having it all in one compact, everyone can find a lot of adventures here starting from trekking to exploring turquoise pools, waterfalls and terraced plantations and on the other side from sunbathing on the beach to diving and discovering the rich aquatic treasures of the Arab ocean.

Fishing is one of the common hobbies for some and due to spacious households, my friends and I started a garden feat. different veggies and herbs. So if you’re on a tight budget, you could always find ways to sustain yourself here.

CLEAN ENVIRONMENT

When I first landed in Oman, I have seen the airport and it didn’t give me a good feeling. But thanks to the recently raised airport! It finally compliments the beauty of the city.

First thing I observed when arriving in Muscat was the clean air it brings. I don’t know but hailing from a third world country, Oman is flawless enough in terms of its roads as well crowded and empty spaces. Really, really amazing!

OPPORTUNITY TO PRACTICE FAITH

There’s this one place here in Muscat where all non-Islam religions are being practiced. Different organizations have agreed to maximize the area with their own timings of worship.

Despite being governed by a Sultan, Oman still values other religions by this simple act of liberalism and for me, that is one big wow.

FUN LOCAL TRADITIONS

This is my favourite nature of Omani people: how they eat.

At work, we usually sit on the floor altogether and Omanis eat with their hands. It’s their belief that when they use their hands, they find the food tastier.

But I think aside from that, just by sitting on the floor regardless of your position in life, it gives me a feeling of equality and something that Omani culture has taught me is to always be willing. (Willing to sit on the floor. Lol)

I’m not done yet. There’s one more. In Philippines, we used to do barbeque and it’s always everyone’s favourite bonding. Hence when I found the same custom here in Oman, I felt very at home! There are several barbeque joints all over the streets and on the bay. Partner it with grilled corn and sulaimani tea, dinner is solved!

JUST RULING

This is the most important factor for everyone when considering a country to live in.

Omani government is a balance of a strict but reasonable leadership. As we know, Arabian culture differs a bit from the rest of the other countries. However, Omani government prioritizes fair treatment for locals and foreigners.

Again, comparing it to other Arabian countries, I can see many happy expats living here and that’s because of the good governance.

To wrap it all up, Oman has reminded me a few lessons that we all can relate in life:

  • Happy people are those who don’t need the spotlight of attention.
  • Contentment is being able to extend your life to others.
  • Love keeps all conflicts. However,
  • Revenge only attracts another fight.
  • Simplicity is the key to a peaceful daily.

I must say, Oman has been a blessing to me since day one and though I’m only new here, I’m hoping to find out more and be able to stay for a longer time.

Princess Tadena is a 22-year old Filipina who independently lives overseas. She writes her life lessons and unique travel experiences. Aside from building her career and writing, she does photography and music on the side.

https://princesstadena.com

--

--

Princess Tadena
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

Living abroad & learning life. The Post-Grad Survival Guide Contributor. Blog: theoverseasdiary.com