We’re Tired of Reading About How You Became a Millionaire

So please stop telling us.

Jessica Wildfire
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

--

Yesterday I read an article by someone who said you can get rich by waiting for your parents to die, and then inheriting their estate.

That’s what they did.

I have some problems with this, and not just because I don’t anticipate inheriting anything from my family. It occurred to me these “how I got rich” articles really have hit rock bottom lately.

And we have Jeff Bezos telling us:

Create more than you consume.

That’s hilarious, because Jeff Bezos became the richest man on earth by encouraging the opposite mindset.

Every time I read an article about how someone made a million bucks, I throw up a little in my brain. It’s not because I’m jealous. It’s because the advice is really, really, really out of touch. These articles tell me our society isn’t in such hot shape if everyone’s waiting for their parents to die just so they can start to build up some wealth.

And while I’m very sorry to offend anyone who might’ve written one of these articles, we need to have a chat about this.

See, I’m not alone…

I was so pissed off yesterday, I tweeted about it.

--

--