What I learned Being 5 Days Off the Grid in Nature

What Being Offline Can Teach Us

N.A. Turner
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

--

This is me at the start of my Torres del Paine hike.

“We need the tonic of wildness…At the same time that we are earnest to explore and learn all things, we require that all things be mysterious and unexplorable, that land and sea be indefinitely wild, unsurveyed and unfathomed by us because unfathomable. We can never have enough of nature.” — Henry David Thoreau

I’m three weeks into my 3-month trip through South America. I’ve been traveling through Patagonia for the last two weeks. An absolute stunning wonder of nature filled with mountains, glaciers, and lakes. It’s paradise for nature lovers and hikers.

I’m not an experienced hiker. I don’t particularly enjoy camping. But one of the things of traveling is to get out of your comfort zone.

Torres del Paine is a national park in Chile. It’s famous for its W- and O-trek which attracts thousands of visitors from all over the world. Every week.

I did a 5-day hike on the W-trek. I carried a big backpack with a tent, sleeping bag, mat, clothes, and food. Hiking with a lot of weight through different weather…

--

--

N.A. Turner
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

I write about writing & creativity. Short story writer and novelist. Amazon best-selling author. Free eBook with writing tips: bit.ly/TurnerMail