What If GaryVee Was Right?

You can ‘close your eyes until you’re 29.’

Sergey Faldin 🇺🇦
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

--

Image credits to Mumbrella Asia.

I disagree with Gary Vaynerchuk on a lot of things. (For starters, I hate the word ‘hustle,’ and I don’t believe that everybody should create content 24/7.)

But there is one idea from him that I keep coming back to over the years.

“Close your eyes until you’re 29.”

I remember when I first heard it.

His team compiled a short (2–3 min) video on YouTube as a mashup of quotes and footage from different keynote conferences and meetings Gary had with fans.

He was asked repeatedly by budding entrepreneurs (most of whom were in their twenties), “What should I do? I am lost. I am in a rut.”

And Gary would reply the same thing over and over, in his usual driven way, “You’re not lost. You’re just too early in the process.”

The first time I watched that video, I was in a rut.

It was three years ago; I lived in a Moscow apartment I couldn’t afford; my girlfriend and I just got together.

Two months before, I lost $100,000 trading bitcoin — money that didn’t even belong to me.

I was lost.

--

--

Sergey Faldin 🇺🇦
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

Honest thoughts. Unpopular opinions. Not necessarily true or smart. | The Guardian, Al Jazeera, Meduza | muckrack.com/sfaldin | Subscribe: sergeys.substack.com