What I’ve Learned From a 60% Curation Rate on Medium

Making sense of our art.

Shannon Ashley
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

--

Photo by Igor Miske on Unsplash

Curation on Medium means that your story has been distributed through one or more topics on the platform. Medium may include your story in a daily digest email, or simply prompt your story to come up more frequently in the app and website to readers interested in those topics.

If you look at my story about Welcome to Marwen, you’ll see what I mean.

Notice the "Film" topic at the top left.
From the detailed stats page, I can see this story was distributed in two topics: film and equality.

Essentially, I use the words the words “distributed” and “curated” interchangeably here. If your story has been curated, it’s been distributed.

For independent writers on Medium, a high curation rate can do a lot for your credibility and income. In my experience over the past nine months, I would say that the benefits of curation began picking up in September, and likely peaked in December. We’re nearly through January, but I think the jury is still out on exactly how curation works lately. As many people have noted, January has been a funny month in terms of…

--

--

Shannon Ashley
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

It's not about being flawless, it's about being honest. Calling out vipers since 2018 🍵 https://ko-fi.com/shannonashley 📧 truthurts.substack.com