What’s More Important: Your Career Or Relationships?

Scott Asai
The Post-Grad Survival Guide
2 min readNov 16, 2018

Post-college, “life stages” determine your focus more than actual age.

Someone in their 20’s is married with two kids while someone in their 30’s is too busy growing their career to think about a spouse.

Neither is wrong. Just different priorities.

Instead of trying to debate which answer is right understand that choosing one to prioritize is much wiser (and realistic) than achieving work life balance.

Our lifestyle/actions reveal what matters most. Since time is equal to all, how you spend it shows what’s most important to you.

With life there’s no formula for success. There are models that have worked, but they may not be a good fit for you.

For instance when I made the decision to become an entrepreneur 12 years ago I was very driven to achieve initially. I remember waking up early and staying up late willing to do whatever it took for the next sale. Naivety worked to my advantage early on because I was too overconfident to fail.

Over time experiencing rejection and becoming aware it was flexibility I was really after shifted my mindset. I desire to excel professionally, but it’s not as important as controlling my schedule.

Enter my wife and two kids into the equation and now my ambitions center around spending quality time with them. My aspirations are to do what I love with the ones I love.

Coaching my daughters 5–6 year old basketball team and speaking monthly at my dad’s church and networking event (separate things) is what brings the most joy in my career. They don’t make me any money, but I put more passion and effort into those than any paid gigs.

On the other hand I have friends who have built their brand, become influencers and optimized their impact daily. I have a tremendous amount of respect for them for what was jealously before is now admiration.

How this applies to you is: choose one. Career or relationships.

It’s not a final choice, just your focus now. Of course your decision will impact the other selection, but I can tell you firsthand if you don’t single out one both will suffer to a degree.

Know that your decision shouldn’t be influenced by friends or competition. Society’s standards for what’s acceptable won’t help you make an authentic choice.

This is up to you.

Choose wisely and don’t look back.

--

--