When Choosing Your Career, Focus on the Nature of Your Work

Your job should match certain aspects of your personality

Adriana Sim
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

--

Photo: cottonbro/Pexels

You’d make a great notary,” my dad once said to me.

I was 12 years old, and I didn’t really know what a notary was. My dad explained that it was an easy desk job, had something to do with law, and was insanely well paid. His enthusiasm rubbed on me, so for a while, I truly believed I was going to be a notary. Not such a fun dream job for a kid, right?

But the notary career path was a no-go since my dad quickly realized that he needed a lot of money and connections to make that happen for me (or so he thought). So my parents started gently nudging me towards a medical career.

Family isn’t solely responsible for my career choice, but my upbringing had a lot to do with it. Selecting a career path that merged both passion and profit proved to be very difficult. Choosing passion, at the time, meant becoming a starving artist, or a modest teacher. So I chose profit over passion, oblivious to the fact that I could eventually have both.

You see, there’s so much more to choosing the work that’s right for you. It’s one of the most important decisions that you’ll ever make, and in order to get it right, you need to have a deep understanding of your

--

--

Adriana Sim
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

In the process of GYST’ing and following my intuition. Gave up a career in medicine to pursue writing, blogging, and, most of all, living.