When the Only Way Out is Through

Walking on ropes and wooden planks suspended above the ground.

Alana Goh
The Post-Grad Survival Guide
2 min readMar 3, 2018

--

Photo by Robert Zunikoff on Unsplash

On the second level of a metal structure, I’m harnessed to a metal roller mechanism that travels with me along the obstacle course ahead: a series of ropes and wooden planks suspended two levels above the ground. My mind goes into fight or flight mode at this point, looking at those attempting the climbs before me.

When it was my turn to head out, I started asking the guy who was strapping me up, “Uhm what if I don’t know how to go through? What if I can’t move ahead and get stuck?”

What I really wanted to know is if I would still be safe if I ever fall or decide to give up from fear. I was looking for plan Bs and escape routes.

His reply was simply, “Just steady yourself, and move ahead slowly.”

Okay, great.

Off I go.

I took a step out without further thoughts, shutting out the fear and anxiety. Focused on balancing and getting to the next platform to plant my feet momentarily on sturdy grounds before the next obstacle.

In the first couple of obstacles, I panicked when I felt my legs tremble, and the ropes shaking with it.

This is not good, I’m really gonna fall if I can’t get it steady enough. Breathe. Take smaller steps. Breathe. Look ahead. That’s the only way through.

As I stood at one particular platform, probably the 4th out of 12 obstacles, staring ahead at the strange punching bag looking things in my way, I wanted to give up. How am I supposed to get through that? It took me longer than usual to take that step forward.

Once again, thinking held me back from doing.

Finally, after a few mental hurdles, the obstacles became less difficult to get through. I was reaching the end as long as I focused on remembering to breathe, move my feet in the steadiest way possible across the ropes, and trusting that my arms are holding on to some form of safety — more ropes.

I have a fear of heights and unstable footing. They are precisely why I’m usually not the first to jump and say yes to adventurous activities, and in fact, try to avoid them as much as possible.

This ropey and sweaty experience stretched my mind to get over itself.

A good reminder that the only way is through. However, if you need a rest, make space and take a break, before moving along again.

--

--