Why I Won’t Succeed At My Side-Hustles

And why that’s okay.

Matthew Maniaci
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

--

Photo: Garrhet Sampson/Unsplash

American culture is a culture of hustlers. If you’re not working at least one or two side-hustles, they say, you’re missing out. I have (and to a certain extent still do) subscribed to that theory, working several small side-hustles in addition to my nine-to-five desk job.

Honestly, right now, none of them are terribly lucrative. My most recent Medium earnings were just over $5, mostly on the back of my existing content. My freelance writing hustle hasn’t had any hits for a while. I’m living primarily on my salary, with minimal other income streams.

And you know what? I’m okay with that.

You see, in a culture of hustlers, I’m just…not. The conventional wisdom says you should be working constantly, marketing yourself to clients at all times, and maintaining a slick online presence on social media and elsewhere. There are plenty of people who make it work for them, and they reap the rewards of their efforts.

I don’t have the energy for that.

There was a time where I was cranking out multiple articles a week, picking up freelance gigs, and posting regularly on my social media pages. Not so much, lately. I’m not a natural self-marketer, being more prone to introversion and imposter syndrome than to the natural energy and…

--

--

Matthew Maniaci
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

I write about everything from my experience with mental illness to politics to philosophy. Much of my so-called "wisdom" is from Tumblr dot com. He/him/his.