Why I’m Quitting My 6 Figure Dream Job as a UX Designer

What happens when you put your life ahead of your work?

Breana Wallace
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

--

Me sitting in front of 2 monitors and a laptop in the office
My last day at the office, before I went remote.

I decided to get into Tech because I knew that I needed to make more money, I wanted a skill set that would allow me to call the shots rather than begging for scraps, and I wanted something that could eventually be done remotely. Finding something that genuinely interested me and that I was good at was a really nice bonus.

I’ve written articles on my experience, and I mentor people on how to do exactly what I did.

But after 3 and a half years as a UX designer at a top company, I’m quitting the best job I’ve ever had

Total Compensation: $107,828.44
A screenshot of my total comp

I’m grateful for all the experiences I’ve had

I don’t take stepping away lightly. It’s something I’ve been actively planning and working towards for almost 2 years now.

This job is where I truly became a UX Designer, and honed skills that are enabling me to walk away without feeling anxious about returning if I decide to.

--

--

Breana Wallace
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

Top Writer | UX Designer, Innovator & Mentor to Passionate People | Enjoying my mini-retirement 🏖️ Join Medium Today: https://breanawallace.medium.com/members