Why I’m Unemployable

With lockdown measures coming to an end, many people who lost their jobs to the pandemic are looking for new positions to fill. I am not one of them.

Mister
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

--

image credit: Van Tay Media

I am unemployable*. There are many reasons why. Some are so prominent in everyday life that they have faded to the background, like a shooting pain that becomes dull enough to bear but never goes away; some are in the public sphere of conversation and show little or no signs of improvement as time goes on. But all of them add up to the basic fact that I won’t be managed.

That’s right: It’s not that I can’t do it, it’s that I won’t do it. I have been so willing in the past, and tried so hard. But after 13 years of a horrible work life, I’m not motivated to continue trying to find the passion to, well… try. Because if doing something makes me unhappy, I won’t do it. The outcome is irrelevant to me if the resulting gratification isn’t particularly expeditious. Or in this case, even worth it.

With more and more people going back to work now that lockdown is over, here are my top 4 reasons (at the moment) that being an employee ain’t shit:

1. Employment contracts are ridiculously unfair and one-sided MOST OF THE TIME

--

--

Mister
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

Born with a passion for stories and a penchant for telling them. I spend my time torn between good and evil, trying to figure out why the hell I'm here.