Here’s Why It’s More Important To Say No

In the office, in your relationships, in your life.

Zulie Rane
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

--

Photo by Gemma Evans on Unsplash

If you’re like most people, you’re better at saying yes than you are at saying no.

I’m awful at saying no, and this means a lot of the time, I give in and say yes to things I don’t have time or energy for.

Yes, I can take on that additional responsibility.

Yes, I will come have a coffee and talk about your breakup.

Yes, now’s a great time to talk.

For fear of seeming rude, we accept to do most things if asked, even if they are counter to our own well-being.

Last weekend, one of our friends was telling my partner and me an anecdote about her work. She’d gotten into the bad habit of saying, “Absolutely not,” even to things which were minor, or even things which she probably could have done.

“Someone asked if I minded making them a coffee before a meeting, and I just said ‘Absolutely not!’ without even thinking about it!” she was telling us. “I felt so rude.”

Photo by Christiana Rivers on Unsplash

--

--

Zulie Rane
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

Writer and cat mom. Opinions are my own. This is my just-for-fun profile! My official Medium profile is @Zulie_at_Medium.