Why Working in Sales Did Wonders for My Freelance Career

Experience in sales can help you achieve freelance success

Claire Stapley
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

--

Photo: Quino Al/Unsplash

Before becoming a full-time freelance writer back in 2019, I spent over three years working in a sales-based job. I was a recruiter.

Before you roll your eyes and click “exit story,” — hear me out. I know that there’s a lot of stigma around recruiters and the industry overall, but not all of us are bad.

I didn’t ignore candidates, and I took my job seriously. Did I think at one point I was living a similar lifestyle to Jordan Belfort in Wolf of Wall St? Potentially. But don’t throw shade at me. I was 21 and loving life.

For those who think that recruitment isn’t a sales job, they either haven’t done it before or think way too highly of themselves. You can call yourself any fancy name under the sun, but you’re still selling a service to your clients.

People who haven’t worked in sales love to judge, and for a while, it got under my skin. However, working in recruitment taught me how to run my own business as a freelancer and make great money while doing it.

Sales teaches you a lot about business

Whether it’s negotiating rates, securing client meetings or qualifying a prospect…

--

--

Claire Stapley
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

Freelance copywriter. Passionate about mental health, travel, films and people.