Why Working Remotely Works Better for Commuters

You no longer need to wait for a train, subway, bus, or an Uber.

Carly Henriquez
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

--

Photo: Charl Folscher/Unslash

The cost to commute in New York City takes a hefty toll on ones’ expense budget. As I recently graduated from college and obtained my first media industry remote job, I realize how much money I began to save during quarantine.

Commuting from New Jersey to New York City is tremendously cheaper than paying for an apartment however the cost for a monthly NJ Transit pass, Metro Card swipes, Ubers/Lyfts, etc. does add to your monthly expenses.

Before quarantine, I was an intern at MSNBC making $15 an hour, New York City’s minimum wage, and I typically worked a 20–24 hour workweek. After taxes are deducted I was left with about $300 a week. For my monthly expenses, which was usually used for food, gas, cell-phone bill, car insurance, and travel expenses it was hardly enough.

I was always trying to find a way of making ends meet and at desperate times I’d have to either transfer my money from my savings to my checking account or ask my parents to spare some cash for the transportation.

At the time I was still an undergraduate student and I prioritized my academics which is why I wasn’t complaining about my financial income but I was spending $184 a month for the…

--

--

Carly Henriquez
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

Currently an Associate Producer at NowThis. Passionate about social issues and technology!