Why You Should Embrace the Uncertainty of Change in Your 20s

Planning your life out is working against you

Violet Daniels
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

--

Photo: Startup Stock Photos/Pexels

In January, the world was blissfully unaware of what 2020 would bring.

The pandemic is something that couldn’t be planned for, and yet, young adults are told that the most important thing in life is to have a plan.

But the future is never set in stone. The pandemic that was unleashed across the world in 2020 should remind us all that plans are made to be broken, and the world is never going to grant you stability.

Sitting in an empty bookshop, whittling away what were to be my final working hours in a very long time, I had no idea what this pandemic would bring. And I had no idea how I would cope with being contained within the same four walls and spending endless days without a plan in sight.

While I basked in the glory of freedom in the first few months, panic soon set in. As a meticulous planner, I suddenly realized I had no path or direction to follow. And at 23, I was committing a social taboo.

The pandemic has caused many young people to put their lives “on pause” due to the disruption wrought to education and career prospects.

Plans supposedly allow us to make provisions for the future, structuring our…

--

--

Violet Daniels
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

Full time content writer navigating the world one word at a time | Top writer in books & reading | Aspiring novelist | 📚 https://www.violet-daniels.com/