Why You Should Reach Out To One Badass Person Every Day

Tom Kuegler
The Post-Grad Survival Guide
2 min readOct 24, 2017

--

Ever since I started my podcast a week ago, I’ve talked with some pretty badass people.

Just last night I spoke with Thomas Despin. He traveled across the world on his bike and started a dropshipping business that grossed $750,000 this year.

A true badass in every right.

The other week I spoke with Tiffany Sun, a writer on Medium who has 21,000 followers.

Heck, in a week I’m about to interview Jenny Blake, the author of Pivot.

My network is exploding with new faces and I’ve never felt so much closer to my dreams before.

Why?

Because I know I can’t do this alone.

I also know the people from my hometown who have 9–5 jobs won’t be able to help me with my entrepreneurial vision.

All they want to do is get drunk on the weekends and stay EXACTLY where they are. While that’s not necessarily a problem, it’s also not what I want.

Your network is everything.

It was no accident that George Lucas and Steven Spielberg were great friends before ‘Jaws’ and ‘Star Wars’ came out.

It seems the most successful people in the world gravitate towards one another. If I ever want to do more than live in my hometown, I MUST broaden my network.

You should do this, too, by reaching out to one BADASS every day.

Comment on their blog post, send them a tweet, or send them an email.

Even if they don’t respond, it’s great practice because you honestly never know what could happen!

Find 3–4 core people you want to be JUST like and consume every bit of content they create, whether that’s music, writing, videos, etc.

Do this because sooner or later you’ll see who they’re working/collaborating with, and then you’ll find out just how far the rabbit hole really goes.

I used to think there was an endless supply of bloggers out there making six plus figures.

The more I research, though, the more I realize there’s really just a couple dozen bloggers/authors that seem to work together and support each other.

The world really is a small place, and if only one badass decides to respond and develop a relationship with you, you might eventually have it in with the whole game.

That’s why you should reach out to one badass every single day.

To get my interviews with Thomas Despin and Tiffany Sun, make sure to download+subscriber to The Post-Grad Survival Guide podcast on iTunes!

--

--