Why Your 40s May Be Your Most Challenging Decade Yet

Here’s how you prepare yourself.

U-Ming Lee
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

--

Image generated by DALL·E 2. Prompt: “A photorealistic painting of a 40-something-year-old Asian man, brow furrowed with worry.”

You might have been amused over the weekend by the news that Bryan Johnson, an uber-wealthy Silicon Valley venture capitalist, is spending $2 million per year to “de-age” his body back to 18.

(He’s 45.)

I’m sure some find it fun to rip into another filthy rich tech bro broadcasting his epic midlife crisis on the Internet.

But I sympathise.

I’m 43 years years old, so I get it. Navigating your 40s is hard.

A substantial body of research indicates that people are most depressed in their forties. This holds in the USA, the UK, and 70 other countries.

It isn’t just humans. Chimpanzees and orangutans also experience a significant dip in well-being around their midlife.

I had no idea it was such a common pattern. I was complaining to my partner about how unhappy I felt most of the time. After digging around the Internet, I found out I’m not alone.

This sort of thing creeps on you and clocks you in the head before you know it.

After much introspection, I’ve figured out why my 40s have been my most challenging decade yet. I also figured out what I wish I’d done earlier in life to…

--

--