Pexels + Canva

You dont need a degree, just this

You don’t need it… in some cases.

3 min readAug 21, 2018

--

I don’t have a university degree. Not because I haven’t had the opportunity to have one. Rather it was anxiety.

Let me explain:

I didn’t want to spend five years of my life on something that in reality didn’t make me feel complete. I didn’t enjoy studying it and I didn’t want to live from it either. So when I was in the second year of my engineering career I realized that I wanted to do something else with my life.

As at that time I didn’t have any conclusions about what to do next, so I started learning to develop apps for mobile devices but after two months I realized that it was not for me.

And it was there when I started approaching to be a writer. I started writing in Medium while designing strategies to be able to live from this.

To be able to live on my writing I just needed two things: vision and execution.

Vision

For any project to work, you must have a solid plan to back it up. That’s why I was reading a lot about how to be a professional writer. I learned about strategies to turn this into a business and generate income.

I also wrote a post about my master plan.

It’s essential to think about an objective and create a plan that details how to get there. We must take into account what virtues we have at that moment and what we must develop, and of course have a plan B in case everything fails.

There are even times where we have to try things that nobody else did, it’s a good way to stand out from the rest.

Execution

All the ideas that come out of our vision must be removed from the paper and be brought to reality.

And for this, you have to have commitment and patience. It’s useless to spend two weeks planning a project so that in two days we will be defeated because it is very complicated. You also have to understand that you have to wait a bit of time until the plan gives its first results.

It is like any investment, in the beginning, everything will be expenses (of time and resources) but at some point, this trend is reversed and the project pays its interest.

In my case, I try every day (or at least 6 days a week) to give a little time to my career as a writer. I have not yet received a penny for the time and effort I put in, but sooner or later this will be the other way around.

Conclusion

I’m not questioning that a college degree is a great entry ticket to a better life. But there are times when we do not want to take on that risk, the risk of investing a large portion of our lives in a profession that does not really make us feel satisfied or happy.

You have to know how to identify that moment, that feeling of emptiness that produces and do something to reverse it. I realized it in time and the next day I was looking for other options. I choose one of them and began to draw my plan.

Everyday I continue to execute it and every day I feel more and more pleased.

Today is an interactive article, so if you have any suggestions on this topic take the freedom to leave it in the comments.

This story is published in The Post-Grad Survival Guide, a publication for recent grads followed by 8,000+ people.

If you want to learn how to tell your own story online, take our free 4-day email course on how to become an influencer.

--

--

Data Scientist & Creative Guy. I write about Self Development, Knowledge, Personal Finances and life in general.