Something to See Here

Terry Bain
The Pour Over
Published in
2 min readMay 4, 2021

--

Nothing to See Here by Kevin Wilson book cover
Nothing to See Here by Kevin Wilson

Nothing to See Here
Kevin Wilson

I very intentionally didn’t learn much about this book before reading it. In fact I was so circumspect about this book before first diving in that I didn’t even know it was fiction. This was very confusing at first since the genders of the narrator and the author did not match, but I just assumed for awhile that part of the book would be about how the author transitioned.

This was a weird place to be because no… that wasn’t it at all. This is a fiction book. Some people call it a “novel” and none of it is “true” in the sense that these things did not actually happen.

I honestly don’t know what made me think it was non-fiction. I just make assumptions about books based on their cover, as we all do, and something about a child on the cover fully on fire made me think this was non-fiction. (Feel free to judge this however you wish.)

Anyway this was for sure an enjoyable read and I have no quibbles with it. The characters were well defined and the conflict was not subtle and I love the kids inside and want more of them.

But okay I have a quibble. I mean this could have been a novel that went on for a thousand pages, but I wound up dashing through it in a couple of days. It felt like one episode of a much longer thing. I wanted Donna Tartt sized…

--

--

Terry Bain
The Pour Over

Author: YOU ARE A DOG http://amzn.to/1GTUrXf & WE ARE THE CAT. Teacher. Artist. Quinquagenarian.