My life/ Matt Russell, Ph.D.

We have a long way to go

Thoughts about harassment and protecting my daughter.

Matt Russell, Ph.D.
The Power of Harassment
2 min readOct 18, 2013

--

Like many others, I love science. From my earliest aptitude tests in primary school, natural sciences were by far the right fit for me. Now I’m a big boy; Ph.D., wife, 4 year old daughter, and a son on the way. I have enjoyed over the past year tweet-meeting many of the online science community. I applaud their ability to write about what they love and do it professionally. As a scientist, I am a critical person by nature. Never would I have thought that I would be naive.

The posts coming out over the past week here, here, here, and here have opened my eyes and I have a new outlook: Science is not immune to bad behavior. Sadly, I thought those who were filled with the curiosity of Nature and the passion to share it were not capable of the behavior of mere mortals. For that, I am sorry.

Like I mentioned earlier, I have a daughter. She is the best thing to happen to me. She will go on to do things much bigger and better than I ever will, I have no doubts. I am so glad she will have such great female role models to look up to as she grows up and begins entering the professional world. The trail has been blazed by amazing ladies that can only inspire those who follow in their footsteps. If by some good fortune to our community my daughter chooses to enter Science, she will have some of the best mentors to grace this planet. This past week, four names have been added to that list. Their courage to speak up only shows us that we still have a long way to go and we need to hurry. There is no place for harassment of any kind in the world today. We are civilized, helpful, encouraging people. An act against one is an act against all because we are all one.

--

--

Matt Russell, Ph.D.
The Power of Harassment

Professor, science and creativity advocate. Curious learner for all things small, especially kids and bacteria. http://sciofrelief.com