Regret

TM Elora
2 min readJun 3, 2023

--

Haunted by Regret

So much has been already said
about the ferocious sting of regret.

So many songs have been already sung
about chances not taken when we were young.

And even more pages have been filled
with stories of dreams left unfulfilled.

And all of those drafts, abandoned, left unfinished,
are whispering of lives half lived and diminished.

I wanted to act but decided to wait.
I was too scared and now it’s too late.

I took this path but should have gone the other way.
I walked away but wish I dared to stay.

Regret troubles the young and tortures the old.
All the things I could have said if I were so bold.

It steals your sleep and devours your soul.
You took the easy way, and now have to pay the toll.

No physical wounds, yet you quiver in pain.
Oh, how I wish I could do it all again.

But what if regret comes as a friend
to remind us this is not yet the end?

Maybe it’s here to say there’s still time.
I hope you find the courage you need in this rhyme.

--

--

TM Elora

Abstract Artist, Poet, Writer and Inspiration Junkie.