The Damsel and the Dragon

Ryan Janise
5 min readAug 1, 2023

I met a princess years ago,
who filled my life with joy and laughter.
We got married, settled down,
And had a couple kids soon after.
I thought I’d be her champion,
The knight arrived in armor shining.
She would be my damsel,
Distressed within some tower pining.

Thought my sword and shield enough,
Didn’t realize just how tough,
The foes she fought with really were,
Till the dragon came for her.

First, he torched her energy,
The charred remains are ruins now.
She took the hit, staggered back,
Then charged back through the flames somehow.
The smoke choked out her clarity,
Her mind lost in the ashen fog.
Even that could not deter her,
Though her sprint became a jog.
Turning, she looked at our kids,
Then new resolve filled up her face,
Two deep breaths a scream of rage,
And somehow she was back on pace.
At first that dragon couldn’t stop her,
All its blows she knocked aside.
She struck back but we had nothing,
Strong enough to pierce its hide.

--

--

Ryan Janise

Just another raindrop trying to influence a storm. Not yet a member? Join using this link: https://medium.com/@rcjanise/membership