WOMEN’S SPORTS

From Cheryl to Caitlin: The Evolution and Future of Women’s Basketball Stardom

Through the eyes of my personal basketball journey.

Jason Robinson
PRESS BOX
Published in
7 min readJun 11, 2024

--

Photo by Jeffrey F Lin on Unsplash

I was an anomaly.

I grew up in Chicago during the heights of the Chicago Bulls six championships and while I rooted and enjoyed seeing the Bulls triumph, my favorite player was not Michael Jordan. It was Reggie Miller.

Now, I was under no pretense that Reggie Miller was better than Michael Jordan; most analytics outside of 3-point shooting would say that he is not. That’s before you get to the “eye test”.

One reason I was fan of Reggie Miller because as a child, I believe that I could become just like him if I worked hard enough. Even at 9, I thought that the athletic gifts of Michael Jordan was only God-given to a select group of people. Those gifts combined with a growth spurt and his insane work ethic made Michael Jordan one of the greatest basketball players to ever live. Even with that in 1998, I felt like the only person in Chicago rooting for Indiana in the series.

Now, one might ask what does that have to do with WOMEN’s College Basketball and the stardom of Caitlin Clark. Simple, Reggie would admit that he wasn’t the best player in his own house — that would be his…

--

--

Jason Robinson
PRESS BOX

Problem Solver. Idea Generator. Lives at the intersection of Sport, Business, and Society. Sport MBA Graduate @ UCF