I Believed in Calvin Johnson

The Countdown to another NFL Season begins…

'bumpyjonas…
PRESS BOX

--

Johnson, at his alma matter, Georgia Tech, Creative Commons License

Where should we rank “Megatron” historically?

The National Football League ranks Calvin Johnson, aka, Megatron, the #9 all-time wide receiver in the history of the league.

I do not believe in comparing eras but Johnson, arguably, is higher for me. He is retired now, and the assessment has begun but now that another NFL season is coming, let me try.

First, I lived in Michigan for 11 years during Johnson’s glory years. I had a great job teaching so I moved to the Great Lakes area and weathered the cold.

I could not and did not watch much NFL at first because one, I was not going to pay for the Sunday Ticket, and two, my home team, the Washington Commanders, were terrible and mismanaged (they still are).

On Sundays though, I believed in Calvin Johnson. It was him, a hot bowl of chili, a salad, and a glass of ice tea. Johnson truly was “Megatron” like the famous Transformers antagonist.

To me, he was similar to another great Detroit athlete but on the football field. He was like Dennis Rodman. He had drive and desire and physicality. He was relentless. But Johnson had no antics.

--

--

'bumpyjonas…
PRESS BOX

word scratcher, baller...shot caller, born in a city made of chocolate.