I Made The Jet Ball Team!

A post-apocalyptic sports tale

Phoenix Mōsher
The Press Box

--

Image designed by the author

My stomach was in knots. I could feel the heat rising up from my gut to my brow as I tried to hold back from vomiting. I was nervous as hell. I had never played Jet Ball before.

Not everyone could handle the changes of being in zero gravity. I’d seen many players throw up during their first game when watching them on Google Live. These thoughts did not help to ease my mind.

I still couldn’t believe I won the lottery to be able to play for my district. One of the players moved to a district with a better fleet and opened up a slot. Mine was the lucky name that was called out of all those who submitted to join the fleet.

And if our fleet wins the championship, we all receive The Inoculation so that we can move to the surface, breathe amongst the elite, and play in the Pros.

After World War III, the air became unbreathable and everyone was forced to move underground. Big Pharma found a cure, but the cost was too great, and only the 1% could afford to buy their immunity to the new air.

Some Underworlders spend their entire lives saving up to buy the cure to live out their final days on the surface while others compete to become one of the Surface Elite. We all had dreams of seeing the sun–now only known to us by the tales of…

--

--

Phoenix Mōsher
The Press Box

Author. Lover. Critical Thinker. Passionate about sharing Love with the world & improving Mental Health through TRRPGs. https://projectrollplay.ca/