Learn How to Write from an Award-Winning Columnist

LA times’ Bill Plaschke reveals his secrets during book research for a football team, city devasted by a fire

Mike Butler
Beyond the Scoreboard

--

Photo by Kaitlyn Baker on Unsplash

My brother Scot Butwell, his son Dominic and I were walking up the steps exiting the Memoir panel discussion at the LA Times Book Festival when I glanced up and saw someone who looked familiar.

Was that Bill Plaschke? Los Angeles Times eight-time National sports columnist of the year.

Six-time author Bill Plaschke, who recently wrote a book entitled Paradise Found about a fire in the mountain community of Paradise, California that ravished the city, killing 86 people.

Bill Plaschke, whose columns I read daily and take notes on and often model my writing around.

Bill Plaschke, who I would watch in awe when I was a cub reporter for the Valley Press and getting to fill in at Dodger games. In Awe of the former Dodger beat reporter as I was legendary announcer Vince Scully.

TV personality Bill Plaschke on the ESPN sports talk show “Around the Horn.”

Bill Plaschke. My writing mentor.

Meeting my mentor

--

--

Mike Butler
Beyond the Scoreboard

Top NBA, sports, and music writer. Editor for Beyond the Scoreboard.